The Gazeebo

A Poet's Place

Mr. Packard: Letter to Mind, part 2

I’ve already lost you so it makes sense that I lose myself more and more each day, the tears that flow while I sit there in the dark. Some of the handlers even laugh at me, but why? They’ve obviously never been in my shoes, never even forgotten what they did for vacation as a child. They are coming you know… right now… down that hall with my jacket – I wish I could say it kept me warm, but instead I sit there on the sponge, shaking… My own meat locker I guess, trying to preserve me… it’s weird to think of it like that, how they’d want to preserve a body when what really matters has long gone… but I guess that’s how they do things around here when I can’t find you, no matter how hard I try or how many scars I make with this pen… my own little tattoos – of the wandering soul.

© Jesse McDowell Lungren

 
August 21, 2011 - Posted by | Mr. Packard

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

