The Gazeebo

A Poet's Place

Mr. Packard: Letter to Mind, part 1

Hello all!

Some of you may remember that I recently had a category with these types of excerpts of the poetic prose story thing that I’m writing, and then having a blog specifically made for it.  Well, I didn’t really like the blog site that I was using and REALLY didn’t like the fact that it wasn’t within the same blog anymore.. so it’s back lol.

So, for those who don’t know, Mr. Packard is a shortening of a story that I’m writing [presently] titled Ramblings of Mr. Packard.  It is basically about a guy who is mentally ill and insane who got put into an insane asylum; the writing within the story is basically just a journal through his viewpoint about anything while in here.

Here is the first excerpt of Ramblings of Mr. Packard, specifically his Letter to Mind.

Dear Mind,
                Where have you gone?  I lost you when I walked out the door.  I don’t know from where I walked out, or from who I walked away.  My doctor tells me I was on a street, of which name I don’t remember.  All I remember is standing there, my hands soaked in blood… whose?  I don’t know…  The body, or bodies, (they still can’t tell) is unrecognizable, their DNA untraceable.  They don’t even know the weapon involved, just that I did it, but I don’t know if it’s true… I just want to know what happened, what I did… if it truly was me.  I want to know who it was so I could apologize to their family… what their face looked like… their eyes, even their teeth were shattered and ground.  But, I can’t do this without you – I am only a body, a faceless person in this world.

© Jesse McDowell Lungren

 
August 21, 2011 - Posted by | Mr. Packard

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

