The Gazeebo

A Poet's Place

The Gazeebo: Makers and Breakers… A Birthday Story

Hey guys!

So, today was my birthday.  My super awesome sister made me a breakfast of pancakes and bacon, while the entire time beating herself up for the way the pancakes looked.  They were great though so there was really no reason to freak out lol.  Well, after that I did a much-needed shave and such, back to smooth instead of my little five o’clock shadow thing.  I also put my contacts in today, for the first time in a few months, and man did my left eye scream out in pain today.  I mean seriously, I was wetting it, taking the contact out, cleaning it (and making sure it was wasn’t flipped inside out or anything), and putting it back in, eye drops, and still it whined.  Whatever though, it’ll get over its little fit in good time and figure out that it ain’t goin nowhere.

But, my original plan for today was to hang with my best friend (basically my brother) and that didn’t work out for certain reasons…  Though, I did play a little Mario Kart Wii and got yet another Grand Prix cup (I’m one away from completing the game.. my dad and I compete about those silly little things lol).

Tonight I saw a theater production, that my sister was involved in with doing the lights, called “Hello, Dolly!” – the main leading actress in the show, Dolly, is a match-maker (thus the reason for the title of the post); the acting was pretty good, the dances by the waiters were fun (and hilarious at times), and there were two different scenes where the cast surrounded the audience seating area and sang all around us, which was pretty cool.

One thing that surprised me a lot tonight was when my dad and sister came home (my dad went out to go pick up my sister after she striked the set of “Hello, Dolly!”) and they surprised me with a German chocolate cake, some chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream, and a birthday gift 🙂  It was super surprising to me because (1) I didn’t really expect to get anything today due to the fact that my parents got paid today and have to work during the week and (2) I had told my mom I really wanted a slice of cake and she ended up texting them to have them deliver a slice from Safeway (she told me after the fact) so I was really only expecting to get that slice and call it a night.  Well, that was just really cool of them and am just really happy about all of that.  A good end to the day I suppose 🙂

So, here’s the poem; this one was written in a College Prep English H class I took in high school.  The assignment was to write a sonnet and I came up with this; I was a senior and kept thinking about how time went by so fast and how I didn’t want to “grow up” yet (I was different from several other of my classmates) so that’s the reason for the subject of this poem.  It definitely needs some editing so, here you go 🙂

Love for Youth

The point in life when things to do are low,

When you forget the fact that you will die.

To expand your horizons and just grow;

Growing the wings to be able to fly.

You will leave the nest, but you do not care;

Ignorance and freedom are what we have.

You want to leave those who birthed you, your way

To enter the real world; you’re not that brave.

But you disregard as you focus on

What this age is all about: friends and dreams,

When you are allowed to depend on mom

For necessities such as food and drink.

Youth goes away quickly; hold onto it

For you will have grown before you know it.

© Jesse McDowell Lungren

 

June 23, 2011 - Posted by | Your Lungren Originals | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] any exercise that day and on top of that I had fast food (KFC bowl)  On top of that, as I said in that post, I got a cake too, along with ice cream so all that combined wasn’t so good (in terms of me […]

    Pingback by To Victory! … Days 10-11 « The Gazeebo | June 25, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

