The Gazeebo

A Poet's Place

The Gazeebo: Success in One Week

Hey guys!

It has officially been a week since I started The Gazeebo and man am I happy about how well it’s done! 🙂  199 hits, part of which were from searches on Google and the like, part of them through the links I posted on Facebook and Twitter, and a third part of them from just kind of random views.  I’m just really happy right now.. though it could possibly be due to the fact that I just started a diet as said in my first post in “To Victory!” but then again it could also be due to the fact that it’s late right now and I’m pretty tired.

But, in other news, I had my follow-up interview today and felt extremely confident about it, better than the first one in fact.  I was told I’d find out within the next few days about whatever is going to happen from there and I’m very hopeful that I’ll get the call 🙂

In another bit of news, my sister has her first performance as the lead Mabel in Pirates of Penzance tomorrow!  I’m so happy and hopeful for her! 🙂

Well, I’m gonna cut it short tonight due to my exhaustion; so, with that here’s the poem.  I wrote this in high school in my creative writing class and revised it in my poetry class at the University.  I’ve dedicated it to my dad 🙂

The Sound of Silence

As I sit here on the grass –

waiting, my fishing pole in hand

watching the line dance with each splash

that sprays me, a cool mist –

I listen to Mother Nature talking

to me.  Warm summer breeze blowing

through the trees, cold water rippling

over the smooth stones of the creek bed,

Rapids formed from

The larger rocks

protruding from the water.

I sit here listening to her lessons,

Watching her as she moves,

Feeling a bite and watching the fish swim away.

© Jesse McDowell Lungren

 

June 13, 2011 - Posted by | Your Lungren Originals | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

